Facts about Gluten-Free Eating

This post may contain affiliate links. For more info please read the full disclosure statement

what is gluten collage

What is Gluten?  Gluten is a protein naturally found in certain grains such as wheat, barley, rye and some oats.  Foods that are made with these grains also contain gluten – that includes foods like bagels, cakes, cereals, cookies, crackers, pasta, pizza and more.

Who Should Avoid Gluten?  About 3 million Americans suffer from a serious medical condition called celiac disease.  For someone with this disease, eating gluten – containing foods causes damage to the lining of the small intestine (where foods go after they have been eaten and diagnosed).  This damage makes it very difficult for the body to absorb nutrients from foods.  Over time this damage can lead to malnourishment and possibly other complications.  While there is no cure for celiac disease, the good news is that eating gluten free is the best way to prevent further damage to the small intestine.  Some people also avoid gluten due to a sensitivity to it while others make a personal choice to avoid it.

Healthful Gluten-Free Eating:

Many foods are generally free of gluten, unless it was added in processing.  People who follow a gluten free diet can enjoy a variety of foods, including:

  • Plain beef, pork or lamb
  • Plain chicken and turkey
  • Plain fish and shellfish
  • Plain fruits
  • Plain vegetables
  • Plain beans
  • Eggs
  • Milk
  • Rice, Wild Rice
  • Quinoa
  • Lentils
  • Corn
  • Potatoes
  • Soy
  • Nuts and Seeds
  • Flax

Did you know that one out of every 133 people in the US has Celiac disease?  Celiac disease runs in families.  Children and siblings of someone with Celiac disease often develop the disorder.  There are more than 2,000 gluten free foods in the US grocery stores!

Know what to look for when you read labels.

The best way to know if a product is gluten free is to read the ingredients.  To determine if a product contains gluten, there are five main words you need to know.  Looking for any of these five words will help you identify products that contain gluten.

  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Malt
  • Oats

This is a list of frequently overlooked foods that may contain gluten.

  • Broth
  • Candy
  • Coating Mixes
  • Croutons
  • Imitation Bacon
  • Imitation Seafood
  • Marinades
  • Processed Meats
  • Sauces and Gravies
  • Seasoning
  • Soy Sauce
  • Thickeners
  • Vegetarian Meat Substitutes

We hope this helps you in your journey!

Disclaimer: Information on Stockpiling Moms is intended to help those living a gluten free lifestyle to do so within their budget. In no way is the information to be construed as medical or health advice. You should consult your medical or health professional for advice in your particular situation, and please always confirm the safety and allergy free status of any product before consuming it.

Here are several Gluten Free Product Reviews. Hopefully they will help you in your journey to gluten free living.

What is Stevia? It is Gluten Free!

Gluten Free With General Mills

Clif Kidz Fruit Ropes – Gluten Free and Organic

Udi’s Gluten Free Products Review – Muffins and Bagels

Udi’s Gluten Free Products Review – Muffin Tops, Granola, Millet Bread and Bagels

 

Speak Your Mind

*