Domino’s announced yesterday on facebook they have added a “Gluten Free” Pizza to their menu. It is really important to education yourself and read the fine print. If you have Celiac or a severe gluten intolerance you need to educate yourself before ordering. It is not 100% Gluten Free because of the possibility of cross contamination. You can read the disclaimer and watch the video below.
Domino’s Pizza made with a Gluten Free Crust is prepared in a common kitchen with the risk of gluten exposure. The National Foundation for Celiac Awareness supports the availability of Domino’s Gluten Free Crust, but cannot recommend the pizza for customers with celiac disease. Customers with gluten sensitivities should exercise judgment in consuming this pizza.
Explaining the Disclaimer:
Gluten is present in Domino’s® Hand Tossed Dough. After stretching the dough, small gluten particles could remain on the pizza maker’s hands, which then touch the cheese and toppings and could transfer to these ingredients. Due to the handcrafted nature of Domino’s® products and because stores do not have a separate gluten free area in the kitchen, a possibility for gluten exposure can occur. As such, pizza made with Domino’s® Gluten Free Crust is not recommended for customers with celiac disease. However, because the risk for exposure is low, this pizza made with Domino’s® Gluten Free Crust is an option for individuals with mild gluten sensitivities.
When making the decision if you will order the gluten free pizza please keep in mind that these additional ingredients contain gluten.
Domino’s® ingredients that contain gluten and should not be added to a Gluten Free Crust:
Other Domino’s® products that contain gluten:
Hand Tossed Dough, Thin Crust, Dish, Brooklyn Crust, Big Deal (select locations)
I would love to know where you weigh in on this – will you be trying the new Domino’s Gluten Free pizza? Please share your thoughts here.
Other Gluten Free Product Reviews You May Enjoy: